CALL FOR NOMINATIONS:

Award of Merit

The Society's Award of Merit is to be presented to qualified Society members at the 66th Annual Spring Meeting, Dallas, Tex., April 27-30, 1975.

The Award is given to recognize current and past achievements in serving the Society:

- (A) Active productive service to AOCS committee work.
- (B) Marked leadership in technical, administrative, or special committee or Society activities.
- (C) Outstanding activity or service that has particularly advanced the Society's prestige, standing, or interest.
- (D) Any distinguished service to the Society not herein otherwise specifically provided for.

Past winners of the Award of Merit include: W.T. Coleman and D.L. Henry, 1969; R.T. Doughtie and R.A. Burns, 1970; E. Jungermann, 1971; D.S. Bolley and T.J. Potts, 1972; A. Rose and E.R. Hahn, 1973; and R.A. Reiners and R.G. Krishnamurthy, 1974.

Nominations will cite the record of the nominee which qualifies him for the Award. Two copies of the nomination will be submitted to: Joseph A. Fioriti, Research Specialist, Technical Center, General Foods Corp., 250 North St., White Plains, N.Y. 10625 before March 1, 1975.

Award in Lipid Chemistry

Sponsored by Applied Science Laboratories

In April 1964, the Governing Board of the American Oil Chemists' Society established an Award in Lipid Chemistry under the sponsorship of the Applied Science Laboratories, Inc., State College, Pa. Previous awards were presented as follows: Erich Baer, August 1964; Ernest Klenk, October 1965; H.E. Carter, October 1966; Sune Bergstrom, October 1967; Daniel Swern, October 1968; H.J. Dutton, October 1969; E.P. Kennedy, September 1970; E.S. Lutton, October 1971; A.T. James, September 1972; F.D. Gunstone; September 1973; and P.K. Stumpf, September 1974.

The award consists of \$2500 accompanied by an appropriate certificate. It is planned that the twelfth award will be presented at the AOCS Fall Meeting in Cincinnati, September 28-October 1, 1975.

Canvassing Committee Appointees

Policies and procedures governing the selection of award winners have been set by the AOCS Governing Board. An Award Nomination Canvassing Committee has been appointed. Members are: David L. Berner, chairman; Harold P. Dupuy; Earl G. Hammond; Donald C. Johnson; and Frank T. Lindgren. The function of this committee is to solicit nominations for the twelfth award. Selection of the award winner will be made by the Award Committee whose membership will remain anonymous.

Rules

The rules prescribe that nominees will have been responsible for the accomplishment of original research in lipid chemistry and must have presented the results thereof through publication of technical papers of high quality. Preference will be given to individuals who are actively associated with research in lipid chemistry and who have made fundamental discoveries that affect a large segment of the lipid field. For award purposes, the term "lipid chemistry" is considered to embrace all aspects of the chemistry and biochemistry of fatty acids, of naturally occurring and synthetic compounds and derivatives of fatty acids, and of compounds that are related to fatty acids metabolically or occur naturally in close association with fatty acids or derivatives thereof. The award will be made without regard for national origin, race, color, creed, or sex.

Letters of nomination together with supporting documents must be submitted in octuplicate to: David L. Berner, Campbell Institute for Food Research, Campbell Place, Camden, N.J. 08101 before the deadline of April 1, 1975. The supporting documents will consist of professional biographical data, including a summary of the nominee's research accomplishments, a list of his publications, the degrees he holds, together with the names of the granting institutions, and the positions held during his professional career. There is no requirement that either the nominator or the nominee be a member of the American Oil Chemists' Society. In addition, letters from at least three other scientists supporting the nomination must be submitted in octuplicate.

Remember the DEADLINE, April 1, 1975





AOCS member Walter Bushuk, Plant Science Department, University of Manitoba, was presented the American Association of Cereal Chemists' Carl Wilhelm Brabender Award at the association's 59th Annual Meeting. The award is presented every two years to honor distinguished contributions to the application of rheology to milling and baking.